Recipe: Rainbow Roasted Veggies and Steak

Recipe: Rainbow Roasted Veggies and Steak

I am meal prep’s number one fan. If I don’t plan ahead, I will eat peanut butter sandwiches for every meal. I like cooking meals in bulk, portioning them into plasticware, and keeping them in the fridge or freezer. Easily accessible, time saving, and healthy – I love knowing exactly what I am putting into my body.

My sweet coworker Brooke posted this meal on her Facebook page and I had to steal it from her.

By eating different colored vegetables, you are reaping benefits from a wide range of nutrients. I love that this meal focuses a lot on vegetables and not as much on protein. The recipe calls for one pound of protein (I chose steak but you can choose whichever kind of protein you would like); split four ways a four-ounce serving is just the right size.

Unfortunately I do not know where this recipe originated. It is as follows:

Roasted Rainbow Veggies and Steak

Serves 4

Total time: Approximately one hour

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb of protein (I chose steak, you can use ground turkey, chicken, or leave the protein out)
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 9 oz baby carrots
  • 1 yellow bell pepper
  • 1 zucchini
  • 3 heads of broccoli
  • 1 red onion
  • Approximately 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar
  • Approximately 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Cut the vegetables and arrange on a pan.
  3. Sprinkle a little bit of salt and pepper, along with approximately one tablespoon each of balsamic vinegar and olive oil.
  4. Roast the vegetables for 25-30 minutes, checking occasionally .
  5. Cook your protein. I chose to season my steak with a little bit of salt and pepper and cook it on the stovetop. Feel free to get creative here!
  6. Once the protein and the vegetables are cooked, divide them into four plasticware containers. Refrigerate or freeze for an easy, healthy meal!

Leave a Reply

